Invitation to the Gathering

“The poets have learned how to see.”
~ Richard Exner

I came across this quote a few months ago and with these words began a journey.  I like to call myself a poet, but I’m not sure if I’ve earned that mantle. Poetry can be a brutal craft. It’s so difficult to do it right and a poet is forever hunting, beckoning for the right words to come to her.  And once the words are found it’s a matter of arranging and rearranging  them… just so.  A poem’s bare bones structure is exposed with nothing much to hold it up if it fails to stand on its own. Let’s face it, a poet needs all the help she can get and I think, by way of inspiration, I may have stumbled upon some helping hands.

I write because I have a need to write and deep within the core of my writing self, poetry burns. Self-sustaining, it burns with the archetypal fire of what I believe to be the most basic level of written expression there is. Yet beyond that there is an even deeper level of expression and that is wordless, visual art that speaks to us with the very voice of the unconscious through vivid images and colors and symbols.

The quote above was found in the book Letters On Cezanne by Rainer Maria Rilke and it was in this book that I came upon the idea of poets perfecting their craft by studying art and learning to see the way an artist sees.  Rilke studied Cezanne, Hofmannsthal studied Van Gogh and so it has continued, I believe, through the years.

Through conversations with a few artists I know and by reading the words of Rilke, I began to look at the world, not only with a poet’s heart, but now through the eyes of the artist and the world began to look very different to me.  Knowing a good thing when I see it, I’ve been reaching out to more artists here and there, but it’s a big world out there and I’ve finally given myself the advice I’d give to someone who was lost in the woods – sit still and wait for help to come to you.

My vision is to share my thoughts, discoveries and questions about art and writing and to invite others that are on the journey to join me here for a gathering of the muses – a dialog with artists of all mediums as well as musicians and other writers – ones that will open this poet’s eyes and teach her to see.

~ by calliopesvoice on April 5, 2012.

16 Responses to “Invitation to the Gathering”

  1. Great idea. Hopefully you’ll build a museum; in the root of the word, a places for the muses to gather, to inspire deeper thought and curiosity. Good luck.

  2. I commented on your other blog. I believe this is a great idea. I look forward to this experience!

  3. Reflecting, contemplating, feeling and writing are all important. Enjoying what you are doing brings more confidence in you as a writer. Good luck 🙂 Cheers!

  4. This is beautifully expressed, and I emphatically agree. We are such visual creatures, and having a keen aesthetic sense can make all the difference in poetry. I actually have a hard time finding established poets that I like – I’d be curious what some of your favorites are, besides Rilke (who, like you, gave me a lot of inspiration once).

    I’m looking forward to reading more from you. You sound like someone with a thoughtful and interesting brain 🙂

    May fortune and the Muses smile down!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I hope you share your thoughts here often.
      Hope you don’t mind that I just reblogged one of your posts that I thought would be perfect here. 🙂

      I’ve been reading Wallace Stevens lately and recently wrote about him in my other blog. I’m sure I’ll be writing about others that I love, too. I’m planning to explore some of the poets you mention in your blog and I’m looking forward to reading your archives.

      • I’m honored to be reblogged. Stevens, I haven’t read him yet, but his name came up recently in a conversation about the Romantics – supposedly he was very influenced by them and had a similar view of the role of art and imagination, like Kant’s idea of consciousness defining reality (?). I’d be curious to see your other blog. I definitely don’t read enough poetry (always preferred to write it), but I’ve been enjoying Diane Ackerman lately. Heck of a lady.

        • I know Stevens was influenced by Kant, but haven’t read much about that. I think it would be worth looking into and I also like the idea of exploring art and imagination.
          If you haven’t found my other blog (it’s as well hidden as your poetry!) you can find it here http://visionsofapollo.wordpress.com.
          Ackerman is definitely one of my very favorites. She lives in a town near by and I’ve had the opportunity to hear her speak twice – once talking about her book Zookeeper’s Wife and the second time reading a passage from one of her books where she describes snow in a million different ways. She’s just incredible.

          • That is awesome. I grabbed her volume I Praise My Destroyer because I thought it was a great title, and now I’m loving it. Then I learned that she is into science and was pals with Carl Sagan, so that just seals the deal for me. I also have a book by her about consciousness on my reading stack.

  5. resonating with your quote you start off with will draw many I think
    to your gathering…
    I am glad you stopped by this morning..(Thank you)
    I will enjoy following your thoughts as you wander and gather more for your
    Journey….
    Take Care,,,
    You Matter….
    )0(
    ladybluerose

  6. Best wishes on your new endeavor! Great idea for a blog…

  7. I am passing this recognition to you. This my token of appreciation for you.
    http://midnighthues.wordpress.com/versatile-blogger-award/
    Thanks!
    Aparna

Leave a Reply

 
